Cyprus has 16th powerful passport in the World

Prabhu Balakrishnan Avatar
Post Date Icon
Update Icon

Cyprus has gained the spot of top 20 best and powerful passports in the world in the newly released Henley passport rankings for 2019.


Passport rankings


  • Capital: Nicosia
  • Official EU language(s): Greek
  • EU member country: since 1 May 2004
  • Currency: euro. Euro area member since 1 January 2008
  • Schengen: Cyprus is currently in the process of joining the Schengen area.


As of 2019, Cypriot citizens have visa free travel to 173 countries in the world.  Cypriot citizens enjoy freedom of movement within EU member states, United Kingdom and Ireland.

For other countries

  • Canada (6 months, ETA required for air)
  • Australia – evisitor visa 90 days
  • Israel – visa not required for 3 months
  • Japan – visa not required 90 days
  • New Zealand – visa not required 3 months
  • South Africa – visa not required 30 days
  • United Arab Emirates – Visa on arrival 15 days
  • Qatar – visa not required 90 days
  • Singapore – visa not required 90 days
  • Turkey – evisa (1 month)

Cyprus does not participate in US visa waiver program (VWP) countries.

Therefore a visa is required for visits to

  • United States
  • China
  • Russia

Please note some countries impose e-visa requirement for cypriot nationals.